What do I love?

For a while now I’ve been thinking what on earth do I love. Don’t get me wrong, I love God and want my heart to love and know Jesus more, but what is my passion? What do I really enjoy in the world?

Lots of people have a real love of music, a sport or reading and lots of different hobbies. Whilst I enjoy doing lots of things there isn’t one thing that really sticks out.

Today however I realised a thing that I really love, that really does make me smile, makes me want to tell people about and include others in. (apart from Jesus and the great news he is).

Other cultures!

Currently I’m away in Bradford helping the Christian union here with their events week and I’m being hosted with the lovely Marie. It’s only the first day and already I have met someone from Pakistan, Lithuania, Romania, the Netherlands and a few others. Having been involved in a question board asking, “if you could ask god one question, what would it be?”, I have had the opportunity to get to know a few people, to find out where they are from and what their country is like and to ask them what people think of Christianity in their home country.

Also, a lot of the Christian union are from varying countries and it’s such a joy to have been able to spend time with some of the girls and hear how they have come to know and love Jesus themselves. We also discussed what the situation was like in their countries and how sometimes culture makes communicating Jesus and the message of the gospel really difficult.

I just love how the world isn’t just all the same nation. I love that we all live in varying parts of the world which means we have varying climates, landscapes and access to certain types of foods which changes the way we eats and cook. I love learning of all the quirky cultural things and the different ways in which communities interact. I’m probably one of those annoying people who ask one hundred and fifty questions to anyone not from my own culture because I just really enjoy learning about others.

I think the fact that we do have so many cultures is just another sign of how creative and diverse our maker is. I feel so blessed to have had many opportunities in my lifetime already where I have had the opportunity to live in and visit lots of other cultures and to share friendships with people all across the globe.

One of my favourite images within scripture is in Revelation 7,

After this I saw a vast crowd, too great to count, from every nation and tribe and people and language, standing in front of the throne and before the Lamb. They were clothed in white robes and held palm branches in their hands. And they were shouting with a great roar,
“Salvation comes from our God who sits on the throne
and from the Lamb!”

I love that in heaven there will be brothers and sisters of all kinds of cultures! The God of the bible is not exclusive.

Very much excited to spend this week partnering with fellow Christians from varying nations to tell their campus of the real Jesus.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

